jump to navigation

Rain-Flies ខែកក្កដា 22, 2006

Posted by STARFiSH in Personal.
trackback

RAINFLIES

Rain-flies

it’s rainy season, but it not raining today as dated July 10, 2006 at 20h00 after class waiting for dinner to be served.

I was about to skip my chinese class… yet again but then i happened to see the school’s bus as turned to the streen down to my place and it just changed my mind about skippin class. Well i dont consider myself as a bad student, it’s just that I was feeling so tired and sleepy this evening as the result of watching the world cup final the night before. I hate to think about it but it appeared that all of my favourite teams are losers, first Switzland then Netherland and my most favourite-England-team and later Germany and then the last one, France.

So did i go to the class, meeting and talking with my classmates there was quite fun but not the lesson itself as i mentioned before that the clas isnt interesting. I just go there to kill my time, seems like i have lots of time to kill but it aint true. The teacher did the revision and have us gone to the white board and practice writting some words and its definitions as the exam day is a couple of days away, though i dont consider this class seriously but believe me that when it come to the this thing, going to the white board and do dictation started to make my heart beating faster, i didnt feel comfortable at all cuz i know that it would be a disaster if the teacher ever call me to the whiteboard as i’ve been skipping class alot lately. So what i did was i tried to stay low, kept my head down and tried to avoid his eyes contacts but somehow i notice that he looked at me from time to time and even mentioned that every one had to come up and he meant everyone as he final mentioned my name. And then there was this miracle, suddenly there’s come the rain-flies មេភ្លៀង(i made up this word for this kinda insect, it’s a bit bigger than red ant with a whiter body, they live in some kinda pile of soil which they have bulit up as it’s nest and they somehow have their wings grow laterand become rain-flies as i called it) flied into our room, so today we had to leave class beforetime.

It’s noticable that if it’s about to rain then these rain-flies would comes out, sometime they come after the rain and it’s attracted to the light.

As we got out of the room we saw hundreds more of them and maybe thousands, they were partying around these fluorecent light along the ceilling of the corridoor. It looked so much like it was snowing apart from that its color, it’s somehow a bit grey. Anyway we all know that It wouldnt snow since it’s rainy season now and beside we dont really have winter here. Along the way back home still i can see rain-flies everywhere, i wish i had my camera with me so that i could capture the moment but i didnt. Watching them made me wondered if those rain-flies are having fun and if they dont really have anything to worry about, I heard that they dont even live long as they make a delicious dish for jinjas so is it still call life?

Anyway the day was saved so it’s basically not really a bad day for me but i did have a bad day the other day, it’s not that i lost the football bet for 4 bucks. I realised that i happen not to get over things easily and the worse thing now it that i noticed that i easily lost my temper lately, i remembered i used to be more patience than this.

This week im all entertainment free, i didnt bring the laptop nor the camera along and as i dont have tv at where i stay. I made up the bed and hit the hay straigh away. It rained like cat and dog that night but i doubt it bother me much. Good night folks.

Note: I was gonna post this long time ago unfortunately there’s no internet connection, man life is getting boring here without the internet.

មតិ

1. rethfuture - ខែកក្កដា 23, 2006

សួស្តី! សូមជួយ Add blog របស់ខ្ញុំចូលផងគឺ មានចំណងជើងថា ការកំសាន្ត (rethfuture.wordpress.com) ចំនែកខ្ញុំវិញក៏បាន Add blog របស់អ្នកចូល blog របស់ខ្ញុំដែរ អរគុណ

2. STARFiSH - ខែកក្កដា 24, 2006

U r welcome!

3. Casper - ខែកក្កដា 24, 2006

Wow, what’s a lovely style!
Hello, do you remember me? m Piseth. I really like the style you currently use (pictures and paragraphs). hahahha

4. STARFiSH - ខែកក្កដា 25, 2006

Good to see you here, yeah i remember you! and i remember you were gonna introduce me some nice gal right?

5. thom - ខែកក្កដា 26, 2006

Starfish, you’re very proficient in your English. I really enjoy reading it. The rainflys in your story are actually ‘termites’, i think.

6. STARFiSH - ខែកក្កដា 26, 2006

Well it maybe called termites when they dont yet have the wings but im still not very sure cuz i usually think termites are those who eat wood. And what do we call them when they can fly?

7. thom - ខែកក្កដា 26, 2006

http://www.fzi.uni-freiburg.de/InsectPestKey-long%20version/termit2.htm
Yea, these are still termites, kandir in khmer but when it has wings and youre right, we called it ‘may-plieng’. According to the above website life cycle of a termite colony consists of 3 classes: Workers, Reproductives (winged mayplieng) and Soldiers.

These winged termites are on their mating flight. Once mated the couple will lose their wings and settle to form a colony.

These may-plieng are good eating too 🙂 yum!

8. STARFiSH - ខែកក្កដា 27, 2006

Wow! i never know in depth about them termites, and the mating flight sounds exciting, it’s like somekinda chinese films about អ្នកគុននិយម in old times. Anyway im not agiasnt it if you say that they’re yummy but i personally dont think im gonna try it.

And I realised that i was wrong about they dont last long, accordding to the link u gave above it is said that the life span of a queen can be as much as 50 years. ^_^


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

