jump to navigation

ផ្លូវលេខ ១ ខែមិថុនា 15, 2007

Posted by STARFiSH in Cambodia.
trackback

Road No 1

ខេត្តបន្ទាយមានជ័យ, ភាគពាយ័ព្យនៃប្រទេសកម្ពុជា ៚

I drive back and forth on this Road No 1 every 5 days of the week, except holidays, for almost 2 years now (i didn’t expected it to be this long, but time fly, you know?). I remember arriving here the first time in 2005 it was sprinkling from early morning till late evening. I was like… Grrr!!!….and great…. come to think of it rainy season come and gone and come again.

Im not sure if you guys noticed a restaurant in the picture. It’s the one with the 3 white cars parked in front of it, Orkide Restaurant (no!!! it’s not that red/white cigarette banner). That’s where i have my 2 daily meals (lunch and dinner) most of the time unless i couldnt find a parking spot. I dont eat breakfast here though since i dont really like the its chinese-noodle and plus i dont wanna be here 3 times a day (eventhough to owner’s daughter is cute ^_^). There are quite a number of restaurants in Banteay Meanchey but I cant really praise anyone of them. Getting out of work at 12pm i find it difficult to find a parking space. It is always fully parked and i sometimes have to park in front of someone’s else house about some 15 meters aways from there. I once got a flat tire, I was not too sure whether it was by those who hates me enough to put a nail under the wheel or it was one of my bad day,… anyway it was not that big a deal, ជាងប៉ះកង់ឡាន was also close by fews meters away and i got it fixed for 2,000 riels.

The good thing about this restaurant is that it’s the most reasonable place to eat. I mean the price is so reasonable, 4,000 riels (used to 3500 riels) per person for a dish of food and you can eat as much rice you may desire, well… the food is quite satisfying as well. But since there are lots of people come here for lunch and dinner (we got a lot of ousider come and work here since the local people are mostly businessman or venders), the service is not always good. I sometimes had to wait like an hour, in worse case, for the food i ordered and twenty minutes at best unless there are early-cooked food prepared. I kinda like those early-cooked foods though, what i meant by early-cooked foods are those that been cooked and ready to order (normally they are prepared for the owner and staff).

This road now is not in a very good condition, lot of pothole is poping out during this early rainy season, mind me… the picture above was taken last year in dry season when it was fixed. This is one of the busiest street in town, it’s muddy when there’s rain and it’s dusty when there’s no rain. But still I also like to drive on this street, for only one reason… to my workplace and of course to Okide, the restaurant… hmmm that may be 2 reasons but who care?

មតិ»

1. naraths - ខែមិថុនា 16, 2007

oh that my home town! ផ្លូវ​លេខ​១… i live at ផ្លូវ​លេខ​៣!

2. kunthy - ខែមិថុនា 17, 2007

That is really good description indeed..Good writer!!

3. STARFiSH - ខែមិថុនា 20, 2007

Naraths, I suppose that u r not living here anymore right?

Kunthy, come on! Im not really a writer… i know im that good but thanks for the compliment though. ^_^

4. naraths - ខែមិថុនា 20, 2007

no not like that, i just leave there for studying in PP. it’s just two yeas ago, i dín’t live there.

5. STARFiSH - ខែមិថុនា 20, 2007

I c, what a quick reply… ^_^

6. naraths - ខែមិថុនា 20, 2007

cos i’m online! lolz…

7. kunthy - ខែមិថុនា 21, 2007

ur writing is really good mehn na.It makes me feel sleepy when i am reading it…hahah Just kidding…..Keep up writing it. 🙂

8. Daravuth KEU - ខែមិថុនា 24, 2007

Hey me too!!! I live in the road number 2 at the East of BTM cable Tv Station..

9. srey poch - ខែមិថុនា 24, 2007

I have to say one of best thing about Cambodia is the cheap food. 😛

10. STARFiSH - ខែមិថុនា 25, 2007

I know u are also from Banteay Meanchey, Vuth, the last time u asked me to take picture of Samdach Ouv High School. I havent done so yet… it’s just that im not brave enough to go there and take pictures… just feel scared that i might be beat up by those badass kids thinkin that i may go there to check their girls and stuff… let see when i have guts… 😛

Srey Poch, i’ll treat u those cheap food the next time u come here. ^_^

11. Rachna - ខែសីហា 14, 2007

Your are a good writer! Yeah, that’s it. Hey, I wanna go there one day. But maybe cant, hope just hope. Dreams do not come true at all. Now I’m very lonely! c’mon friends, cheers me up, plz!
rachna_wishing4peace@yahoo.com

12. STARFiSH - ខែសីហា 29, 2007

Rachna, u can always come here. As long as there’s a will, there’ll be a way. So see ya some day!! cheer!

13. khmerization - ខែធ្នូ 15, 2007

Well, I came from this part of Cambodia and it is sad to see that after years of economic growth in this region and millions of aid money pouring in, the roads still have lots of potholes. Anyway I enjoy your blog. Good to see you have done a good job on the logo design.

14. STARFiSH - ខែធ្នូ 20, 2007

Well there are quite a number of factors and it’s not solely because of the road is poorly built, overloaded trucks, no proper side drainages… etc. From my experience living here, i’ve noticed some improvements in the town though it isnt that much, but i gotta say that the we should have done a little better than this, anyway thanks for stopping by.


ឆ្លើយ​តប

